Pictogram Finals!

Attached are my final designs for the pictogram project.

For the purposes of this project, I wanted to focus on creating highly recognizable movies into highly recognizable icons. Within the five designs my recognition “mind-helpers” were the following:

1. “Mary Poppins” : Obviously, a lady flying in the sky with an umbrella is highly symbolic of a portion of the movie. Focusing on that aspect was easy. Adding a pattern of clouds to communicate that the lady is flying helped too and created more structure within the piece instead of just having a lady with an umbrella doing a Superman fly pose.

2. “Lord of the Rings” : This one gave me the most trouble in creating recognition. Originally I wanted to focus more on a specific scene within the movie; however, it wasn’t recognizable. So, I added in a ring around Gandalf to help symbolize the “Rings” aspect of “The Lord of the Rings.”

3. “Scream” : I figured the killer’s mask was easily recognizable. Focusing on that and adding in several knives was easy enough to represent the movie.

4. “The Cat in the Hat”: Originally, I had an actual (noncartoon) cat within a boiler hat. It was a tad obvious that people looking at it would have to work a tad harder to figure out the meaning, because it wasn’t very representative of Seuss’s work. Instead I made the cat cartoonish and added in a Seuss hat. Now it SHOULD be fairly obvious that my piece is representative of “The Cat in the Hat”

5.  “King Kong” : I wanted to focus on having the Empire State Building being central, with King Kong walking towards it from off the artboard. The element of scale was tricky, originally I had the building a bit smaller; however, now it is more prominent and fits better with a giant gorilla coming at it.

Overall: I’m pleased with how it all turned out!

Attached below are the final pictograms-

Pictographs

 

About Robert Norris

I am a 25 year old college graduate from Maryville College. I have a huge interest in public relations, advertising, social media marketing, and writing. I love graphic design as well and have a huge interest in creating "something from nothing." ~Thank You For Visiting My Blog. Best Of Luck! Robert E. Norris
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

